Posts Tagged ‘sophie gamand’

The Wet Dog Book Signing in Brooklyn

The Wet Dog book came out last week and so far things are going great!
In the vein of Underwater Dogs and Shake comes the quirky yet absolutely darling WET DOG (Grand Central Publishing Hardcover; on sale: 10/13; $22) by acclaimed photographer Sophie Gamand.
WetDogFinal_RGB300LAn adorable and hilarious collection of over 120 dog photographs, the book expands upon Gamand’s much beloved and viral photo series to include some old friends and feature new faces readers will instantly fall in love with. Every dog owner knows too well the fun and misery of bath time: the wriggles, the poignant looks, the playful splashes. WET DOG is a stunning and touching capture of this intimate moment. Elevating dog photography to the status of art, these expressive portraits of our canine friends mirror our very own human emotions. Sophie Gamand is an award-winning photographer and animal advocate living in New York. Since 2010 her powerful and whimsical photography has focused on dogs and our relationship with them. She works closely with animal shelters and rescue groups to help promote adoption and animal welfare.
SophieGamand_TowelDriveFlyer_PR4
The last book signing this Sunday in Brooklyn, New York. It’s a dog-friendly event, and I will be collecting towel donation for a local shelter, Sean Casey Animal Rescue.
0 Comments

DIY Flower Crowns for Your Puppy

Pit bulls tend to get a bad rap in popular culture, usually being portrayed as ferocious and aggressive beasts. Sophie Gamand, a U.S.-based French photographer, has set out to change all that by photographing pitbulls posed with beautiful hippie flower crowns.

Her photo series, entitled, “Flower Power, Pit Bulls of the Revolution,” aims to show the sweeter side of these oft-misunderstood animals.

The models in Gamand’s photos are just a few of the dogs looking for homes at three rescue groups in New York. The proceeds from photo print sales will go to these shelters as well!

Inspired by Sophie Gamand, you can make your very own Flower Crown for your dog.

Step 1. Measure your dog’s head with a shoe lace, string or measuring tape.

Step 2. Create a circle with Floral Wire

Step 3. Fold the wire in half and twist each end so that you have a loop.
Step 4. Trim the flowers and wind the wire around the stems.  Secure the stems with a little piece of floral tape.
Step 5. Once you have all your flowers placed and taped to the wire, tie a piece of ribbon to each loop.  The ribbon doesn’t have to be that long – just long enough to tie the crown around your dog’s head or neck.
You can put it above or below the ears to secure it
0 Comments